New Jersey's Premiere Awards for Community Theater

The NJACT Perry Awards are given for outstanding achievements in New Jersey Community Theater. At the beginning of each season, NJACT Member Theaters submit their shows for award consideration. Two NJACT Reviewers attend each production, evaluate all on-stage aspects of the performance, and provide separate numerical scores for over 50 different criteria across 10 different review categories. More than 200 shows produced by theater companies around the state are submitted each year, which require over 400 reviews by trained NJACT volunteers.

NJACT bestows Perry Awards in 33 performance and technical categories based on NJACT reviewer scores. Candidates with the top seven scorers in each category are considered nominees. The nominee with the highest score in each category receives the Perry Award. There are also four Special Perry Awards available each year: Community Theater of the Year Award, the Lifetime Achievement Award, the David P. McMenemie Award, and the Perry Award for Outstanding Stage Management. Candidates for these awards are nominated by members of the community, and the recipient is determined by NJACT Board vote of those nominated.

1776, Playhouse 22, 2016 Best Musical

Billy Elliot
Parker Fullmore
2016 Outstanding Youth Actor


West Side Story
David Jordan
2015 Best Featured Actor in a Musical

The Color Purple
Bryan Pitt
2015 Best Lead Actor in a Musical

The Color Purple
Suzanne-Baldino Jones
2015 Best Direction of a Musical